South Wales Skeet Winners
Published Tuesday 29 May 2018 12:11 by Craig Davies
Share via
Ben Llewellin and Elena Allen won gold at the British Shooting Shotgun Series this weekend.

The Series consists of three 'rounds' which will allow shooters to qualify for the end-of-season Grand Final event. Each round, and the Grand Final itself, will also be the principal domestic events considered by the British Shooting Shotgun Selection Panel for selection for GB teams for major events. 

The event at South Wales 2000 was the second skeet leg of the competition, which is designed to provide a really exciting and inspirational competition series for all shotgun shooters across the UK, culminating in what will be another fantastic Grand Final event in 2018. 

Speaking after his win, Ben Llewellin, said: It feels great. The whole weekend has been fantastic. Weve been dodging the rain a little bit here in South Wales but I had a great qualification so I was really pleased with that, and that then gave me confidence going into the final.   

I got my own back on Freddy (Killander) this time after he won gold at the last leg of the Shotgun Series. It was great to come away with gold. Everyone shot so well in the final when there was still a few shooters left in it, there was only one or two clays in it, which make it fantastic to watch for the spectators.

Designed to give shooters a feel of what it would be like to shoot at ISSF competition abroad, the Series is receiving lots of praise from shooters and spectators alike. And Ben feels the same.

When asked what he thought of the event, he explained: I think the Shotgun Series has brought a whole new atmosphere to the weekend. Its important to have these shoots in the UK emulating the international events, because the youngsters coming through will get a bit of a taster of what its like when they go oversees. 

Ive got a few international events coming up but Ill be looking forward to the Grand Final at the end of the year as Ill be defending my title in that!

Medal results: 

Skeet Men:
Ben Llewellin
Jeremy Bird
Mike Gilligan

Skeet Women:
Elena Allen
Amber Hill
Alexandra Skeggs

Skeet Junior Men:
Dominic Cooper
Alex Wilkinson
Ed Mediforth

Skeet Junior Women:
Emily Hibbs
Lara Dale
Annabelle Lane
Share via
A big thank you to James Marsh Brown for all of his help in ...
Wednesday 16 January 2019 15:41 via Twitter