Northern Schools Pistol Champs
Published Thursday 24 November 2016 18:49 by
Share via

On November 23rd  Ellesmere College saw 115 entrants compete at the Northern Schools 10m Air Pistol Championships, hosted by British Shooting. Athletes came from from 48 different schools from Scotland, south west Wales to London. Spectators filled Ellesmere’s sports hall to watch athletes filter through the qualifying rounds into the finals in Junior, Intermediate and Senior categories.


Athletes with shooting backgrounds from Pony Clubs, Scouts, Modern Pentathlon competed for a spot at the National Final,all of whom were new to the sport of pure pistol shooting.


Despite of the broad range of shooting abilities, head GB Coach Steve Pengelly indicated that the performances were of a very high standard on Wednesday– our Senior category final required a shoot off between Shannon Davies and Guy Anderson, where it took three rounds to finally distinguish which athlete would continue in the competition for a chance at the gold medal.


The day was made a success by the experienced volunteers who assisted in running a smooth and exciting Pistol Championships; this included members of the British Pistol Club, the West Midlands Regional Shooting Network and Welsh Airgun Association.


The team at British Shooting would like to thank Ellesmere College for kindly providing excellent facilities for the competition, and would also like to thank Manchester Met University for providing some of the equipment.


We are excited to announce that the entrants for the National Final have now been selected, and will take place on Wednesday 25th of January 2017, at the Sport Wales National Centre in Cardiff. This kindly hosted by the Welsh Target Shooting Association, whom we are greatful for their continued support.


Please find the full results attached, as well as the list of athletes who qualified for the National Final in January.



Below are our Junior, Intermediate and Senior medallists, as well as team medallists.




GOLD: Iestyn Jones

SILVER: Max Elkin

BRONZE: Alexander Bibby



GOLD: Emily Shawyer

SILVER: Kerstin Dodd

BRONZE: Joseph Baker



GOLD: Kari Dougall

SILVER: Ben Harper-Stone

BRONZE: Guy Anderson




GOLD: QE A (Iestyn Jones, Otto Brown, Ben-Harris Price)

SILVER: Ellesmere College A ( James Caldwell, George Joyson, Honor Graham)

BRONZE: Ellesmere College B (Lulu Johnson, Sam Warrington, Francine Gilmore)



GOLD: Lockerbrie Academy (Kerstin Dodd, Kyla Dodd, Joe Argo)

SILVER: Bro Myrddin (Taryn Williams, Owen Howell, Tom Butterworth)



GOLD: Adams School Newport (Charles Howard, Alexander Howard, Bilal Anwar)

SILVER: Alsager School (Lily Johnson, Mike Hollins, Brandon Brown)

BRONZE: Altrincham Grammar School (Harvey Bowcock, Micheal Mo, William Pavey)

Share via
Introducing your Women’s Trap, Men’s Trap, Junior Womenâ...
Sunday 20 May 2018 15:33 via Twitter